Melted Toys | Tape | Washed & Dried | Released on 07 July

In the span of 25 minutes, Washed & Dried emulates a meandering and bright feeling that doesn’t just come and go quickly, as a recurrent trend in most EPs leading up to a proper full-length. This Bay Area trio delivers hazy pop songs that linger and let loose right when you forget you’re knocked out by the hypnotic guitar lines and steady percussive ways of the drum machine.

Genre-wise, Melted Toys seems to have a firm grasp on subtlety, without leaning towards the slacker-underachiever mentality. Seconds in to the stunning opener “Come On,” the guitar makes an introduction with a mesmeric line that’s so infectious, you’re immediately drawn in to what’s ahead. And yes, they do have a little Casio making some noise as well on select tracks, but this is far from a synth-pop sound. The instrumental elevator jam “Neuzone” serves as a nice halfway point with its airy, simmering array of textures driven by Brian Wakefield’s bass. It’s refreshing to catch a band where each instrument and lyric is no more impacting than the next. Playful at times, intimate at others, these seven songs might serve as the best soundtrack for your daydreams; good luck not keeping this EP on repeat. (via AUDIO MILK)

Side A
1. Come On
2. Wild Waves
3. Washed & Dried
4. Neuzone

Side B
1. Lost Connection
2. Preforms
3. Portals
4. Come On (Live)

Limited 80

No comments:

Post a Comment