Julia Holter's double & single cassette

Julia Holter's double & single cassettes almost sold out, only a few copies left. Thanks for your purchase!



Julia Holter | Eating The Stars + Live on KDVS | DOUBLE TAPE | Released on 07 July

Tokyo imprint Sixteen Tambourines is again well ahead of all things hip and nifty with their forthcoming release of Julia Holter‘s Eating the Stars cassette, due toward the end of June – though actually we’re not talking about a “new” effort but rather about the re-release of an album that originally had been put out on CD by Human Ear in 2007 and that had been out of print for the last three years. Strictly limited to only 40 copies, the tape features eight tunes of the LA-based experimental folk artist. Office of the Dead perfectly exemplifies what her music is about, complex yet fragile and beautiful folk arranged that are carried by Holter’s sweet and crystal-clear voice, enriched with quite a lot of nature-leaning chirps and squeaks.

Pre-order Eating the Stars here, or head over here to grab the even more exciting double cassette, coming bundled with a rad Live on KDVS tape. (via NO FEAR OF POP)

DOUBLE TAPE | Limited 45
SINGLE TAPE | Limited 40

|| Buy Here ||

:: Eating the Stars ::

Side A
1. Neighbor Neighbor
2. Je Vivroie Liement
3. Office of the Dead
4. Saint Eulalia

Side B
1. 50 Bunny Rabbits
2. Don't Dream it's Over
3. With Loue to Toune
4. Willow Weep

Julia Holter - Office of the Dead by Sixteen Tambourines Recs

:: Live on KDVS ::

Side A
1. In the Same Room
2. Je Vivroie Liement
3. Minerals
4. Monocular Eyes

Side B
1. A Gold Thunder
2. Fur Felix
3. Moni Mon Amie


Melted Toys | Tape | Washed & Dried | Released on 07 July

In the span of 25 minutes, Washed & Dried emulates a meandering and bright feeling that doesn’t just come and go quickly, as a recurrent trend in most EPs leading up to a proper full-length. This Bay Area trio delivers hazy pop songs that linger and let loose right when you forget you’re knocked out by the hypnotic guitar lines and steady percussive ways of the drum machine.

Genre-wise, Melted Toys seems to have a firm grasp on subtlety, without leaning towards the slacker-underachiever mentality. Seconds in to the stunning opener “Come On,” the guitar makes an introduction with a mesmeric line that’s so infectious, you’re immediately drawn in to what’s ahead. And yes, they do have a little Casio making some noise as well on select tracks, but this is far from a synth-pop sound. The instrumental elevator jam “Neuzone” serves as a nice halfway point with its airy, simmering array of textures driven by Brian Wakefield’s bass. It’s refreshing to catch a band where each instrument and lyric is no more impacting than the next. Playful at times, intimate at others, these seven songs might serve as the best soundtrack for your daydreams; good luck not keeping this EP on repeat. (via AUDIO MILK)

Side A
1. Come On
2. Wild Waves
3. Washed & Dried
4. Neuzone

Side B
1. Lost Connection
2. Preforms
3. Portals
4. Come On (Live)

Limited 80